La Paz City Guide: 2020 Updated Information - Bolivia Hop | Bolivia Hop

Guide touristique de La Paz

Visiter La Paz en 2020: Information mise à jour sur la ville de La Paz en Bolivie. Découvrez comment vous rendre ici, où séjourner, quelles sont les activités à ne pas manquer et comment réserver votre sortie à vélo sur la Route de la Mort!

La Paz en résumé:

Lisez ci-dessous votre guide complet sur La Paz, écrit par nos guides locaux et qui à déjà aidé plus de 140 000 voyageurs à réussir leurs aventures en Bolivie depuis notre création en 2013.

Contenu du guide de La Paz:

  1. Comment se rendre à La Paz – Comparez vos options de transport.
  2. Qu’est ce qu’on peut y voir? – Les immanquables de La Paz.
  3. Qu’est ce qu’on peut y faire? – Les activités phares de La Paz.
  4. Conseils utiles – Soyez prêt pour vos aventures.
FIND OUT WHY

Comment se rendre à La Paz

Si vous prenez l’avion pour La Paz, n’oubliez pas que l’aéroport international d’El Alto est situé à 4065 m d’altitude. Il est recommandé d’acheter des feuilles de coca et de boire du thé de coca dès l’atterrissage à l’aéroport pour s’adapter à l’altitude. Vous pouvez ensuite prendre un taxi officiel depuis l’aéroport ou un taxi dans les rues à l’extérieur de l’aéroport. Si vous êtes un voyageur aventureux, vous pouvez prendre un «combi» ou un «trufi» pour vous rendre à votre hôtel de La Paz. Cependant, ceux-ci peuvent être bondés et sans suffisamment d’espace pour vos bagages.

Si vous prenez un bus pour La Paz, vous traverserez très probablement la frontières de Copacabana ou celle de la petite ville de Desaguadero. Le passage de la frontière bolivienne peut parfois être très difficile, surtout sans si vous ne parlez pas espagnol. Nos guides parlent couramment l’anglais et l’espagnol. Ils vous épargneront le stress des passages de frontières et vous aideront en cas de problème. Tous les formulaires d’immigration sont fournis à bord de nos bus et nous vous aiderons à les remplir. Seuls les passagers qui fournissent des copies de leur passeport peuvent être présents dans nos bus, ce qui garantie votre sécurité. Les bus attendront à la frontière jusqu’à ce que tous les passagers soient passés en toute sécurité. Nous ne vous laisserons jamais derrière!

Si vous voyagez depuis ou vers le Pérou, nous vous recommandons de prendre un bus Bolivia Hop. Vous profitez de merveilleux arrêts découverte sur votre chemin et verrez plus au lac Titicaca, à Copacabana, à Puno et à Cusco que les autres toutistes. De plus, Bolivia Hop vous emmènera toujours directement à votre auberge ou hôtel. Vous n’avez donc à vous soucier de rien.

Les informations sur les meilleurs bus à prendre pour La Paz sont disponibles sur notre page Tickets. Choisissez simplement votre ville de départ, les lieux que vous souhaitez visiter et le temps dont vous disposez pour voyager. Parcourez ensuite nos nombreux tickets et décidez lequel sera le votre!

Que voir à La Paz

L’église de San Francisco

La Basílica de San Francisco est l’un des monuments les plus importants de La Paz. Explorez le mélange unique d’architecture coloniale et indigène, profitez de la vue sur les toits de la ville depuis le sommet de l’église et détendez-vous sur la place tout en vous imprégnant de la vie locale autour de vous. Parfois, vous verrez des yatiris, certains des derniers médecins sorciers restants d’Amérique Latine. Ils offrant leurs services aux fidèles tels que des bénédictions supplémentaires – juste au cas où.

Le Marché des Sorcières

À quelques pas de l’église de San Francisco, le Mercado de las Brujas est un petit quartier emblématique de La Paz situé au cœur du centre historique. C’est l’endroit idéal pour acheter des souvenirs fabriqués par des artisans locaux. En dehors de l’artisanat Aymara, vous verrez des choses mystérieuses vendues à chaque coin, comme des fœtus de lama, des gri-gri qui appellent la richesse ou encore des remèdes pour la fertilité et les cœurs brisés. Alors que les voyageurs occidentaux trouveront le marché des sorcières intéressant et divertissant, rappelez-vous que cet endroit reste d’une grande importance pour les habitants qui continuent de préserver leurs anciennes traditions. Si vous agissez de manière irrespectueuse, vous risquez d’être envoûté par l’un des sorciers!

la paz bolivia - women at stalls in witches market

Musée national d’ethnographie et du folklore

Un musée incontournable présentant les artefacts uniques des cultures boliviennes. Le musée est installé dans le magnifique palais du Marquis de Villa Verde du XVIIIe siècle, une maison coloniale relativement « neuve » aux normes boliviennes. Perdez-vous entre les masques anciens et explorez la signification des textiles traditionnels. Le musée distribue également de merveilleux projets audiovisuels célébrant la culture et les coutumes boliviennes qui sont encore bien vivantes à ce jour.

la paz bolivia - Old traditional bolivian museum artifact

Le mirador Laikakota

Le mirador de Laikakota vous offre l’une des meilleures vues panoramiques de La Paz et de son paysage fascinant. Vous pouvez prendre un téléphérique ou, si vous êtes à la hauteur, grimper le long du quartier de Sopocachi et le long de la vallée verte. Récompensez-vous avec une glaces et admirez la vue fantastique sur la montagne El Illimani.

la paz bolivia - view from laikakota viewpoint of la paz and mountains surrounding the city

La Vallée de la Lune

La Valle de la Luna ou la Vallée de la Lune doit être l’un des endroits les plus appréciés de La Paz. Ce labyrinthe de flèches géantes et de canyons, composé principalement d’argile et de grès, est tout simplement un lieu d’émerveillement. La promenade le long de la vallée dure environ 45 minutes. Il y a une aire de camping pour ceux qui souhaitent y passer la nuit. Sinon, vous pouvez vous faire l’aller-retour en «trufi» depuis La Paz.

El Alto

Les jeudis ou dimanches, prenez un «teleferico» (téléphérique) jusqu’à el Alto pour explorer l’un des plus grands marchés de rue d’Amérique Latine. Et quand nous disons « le plus grand », nous le pensons. El Alto est la plus grande ville la plus haute du monde et l’endroit est idéal pour la vie locale bolivienne.

view from El Alto in la paz bolivia

Que faire à La Paz

Teleférico

Utiliser le teleférico, un système de transport téléphérique rapide et fiable à travers La Paz. Les Paceños sont très fiers de leur teléferico, partiellement exploité à l’énergie solaire. Prenez plusieurs lignes pour apprécier à quel point la ville de La Paz est gigantesque.

la paz bolivia - la paz teleferico cable cars

Les lutteuses de Cholitas

Visitez El Alto le dimanche après-midi pour voir cet événement unique en son genre. Les cholitas sont devenues un symbole du pouvoir des femmes indigènes boliviennes et les lutteuses «cholita» sont populaires auprès des touristes et des locaux. Vous serez sûrement divertis.

la paz bolivia - cholita women wrestling

La Muela del Diablo

La Muela del Diablo (la molaire du diable) est un endroit idéal juste à l’extérieur de La Paz pour la randonnée et le VTT. La montagne rocheuse culmine à 3 852 m et doit son nom à sa forme de dent. Vous pouvez vous y rendre en taxi, en bus ou à pied. Si vous décidez de marcher, comptez environ 1 heure de marche très raide et emportez beaucoup d’eau et des collations pour faire le plein d’énergie.

la paz bolivia - muela del diablo hiking and mountain biking area

Boire des singanis à la coca

La vie nocturne à La Paz est absolument incroyable si vous savez où aller. En général, les bars et cafés de La Paz sont bohèmes, avec un mélange parfait du moderne et du traditionnel, où les touristes et les locaux se mélangent. Goûtez le singani, une boisson nationale bolivienne, un brandy de marc de raisins blancs. Nous vous recommandons un cocktail de singani infusé de feuilles de coca pour une expérience bolivienne ultime.

la paz bolivia - coca flavoured singani drink

Mangez et dansez avec les locaux à Sopocachi

Nous le répétons: sortir à La Paz est une expérience incroyable! Il y a beaucoup d’endroits à connaître, quels que soient vos goûts ou vos préférences. Mélangez-vous aux locaux pour une expérience authentique de la vie bolivienne. Nous vous recommandons de sortir dans les bars, clubs et restaurants de Sopocachi. Ce magnifique quartier bohème de La Paz est plein de bons restaurants et de bars sympas qui passent de la bonne musique.

la paz bolivia - night life in sopocachi

Conseils utiles

  • La Paz est à une haute altitude de 3600 m. Détendez-vous lorsque vous arrivez ici. Restez bien hydraté et buvez du thé de coca. Cela peut sembler étrange mais il aide vraiment. Si vous prévoyez des randonnées ou des ascensions de sommets, assurez-vous d’être acclimaté à l’altitude.
  • La Paz peut être glaciale la nuit. Si vous prévoyez de vous offrir un poncho ou un pull de laine d’alpaga, pensez à marchander le prix. Les vendeurs commencent souvent la négociation à plus du double du prix réel.
  • Il y a des centaines d’agences touristiques à La Paz, dont beaucoup sont centrées autour de la Calle Sagarnaga. Les prix reflètent généralement la qualité du service. Faites le tour et si vous avez déjà formé un groupe Bolivia Hop, alors demandez un rabais de groupe!
  • N’emportez que l’essentiel avec vous. Laissez vos passeports et cartes de crédit en sécurité à votre auberge.

YOU MAY LIKE

La Paz City Guide: 2021 Updated Information - Bolivia Hop | Bolivia Hop

La Paz Guide

La Paz, Bolivia: 2021 Updated information about the city of La Paz in Bolivia from how to get there, where to stay, which tours you can't afford to miss and how to book the death road!

La Paz Brief Summary:

Below we have created our extensive guide to the city of La Paz based on our expert local knowledge having helped to transport over 140,000 travelers here since our formation in 2013.

La Paz Guide Contents:

  1. How to get to La Paz – Compare transportation options.
  2. What to see in La Paz – La Paz’s must see attractions
  3. What to do in La Paz – La Paz’s top activities to keep you on your toes.
  4. Useful Tips – Be prepared for your tour.
FIND OUT WHY

How To Get To La Paz

If you fly to La Paz, remember that the El Alto International Airport is located at 4,065m above sea level. It is recommended to buy coca leaves and drink coca tea as soon as you land to the airport to adjust to the altitude. You can then take an official airport taxi or a street taxi located outside of the airport. If you are an adventurous traveler, you can take a ‘combi’ or a ‘trufi’ to La Paz, however, these can be crowded and without sufficient space for your luggage.

If you take a bus to La Paz, you will most likely be crossing through one of the borders in Copacabana or a small town called Desaguadero. Bolivian border crossing can be very difficult sometimes, especially without fluent Spanish. Our guides who are all fluent in English and Spanish will take all the stress away to ensure you cross over the border easily and safely, assisting you with any issues. All immigration forms are supplied on board and we will assist you with filling them out. We also only allow passengers who provide copies of their passport on board, guaranteeing your safety. Buses will wait at the border until all passengers have safely passed. We will never leave you behind!

If you are traveling from or to Peru, we recommend taking a Bolivia Hop bus. You can enjoy all the wonderful stops on the way, including Lake Titicaca and Copacabana in Bolivia, or Puno and Cusco in Peru. Moreover, Bolivia Hop will always take you directly to your hostel/hotel, so you do not have to worry about anything.

Information on the best buses to take to La Paz is available on our passes page. Simply choose your departure city, the locations you would like to visit, and the amount of time you have to travel. Then browse our many passes to see which of them include your desired stop in La Paz.

What To See In La Paz

San Francisco Church

Basílica de San Francisco is one of the most important landmarks in La Paz. Explore the unique mixture of colonial and indigenous architecture, enjoy the views on the city’s rooftops from the top of the church and relax on the plaza while soaking in the local life around you. Sometimes, you will see yatiris, some of the last remaining witch doctors in Latin America, offering services to the churchgoers such as extra blessings – just in case.

Witches’ Market

A short walk from the San Francisco church, Mercado de las Brujas is a small but iconic area of La Paz located in the heart of the historical center. It is the perfect place to buy presents from local artisans. Apart from the Aymara artisanry, you will see mysterious things being sold at each corner, such as llama fetuses and other lucky charms for wealth and fertility, or cures for broken hearts. While Western travelers will find the Witches´ Market interesting and entertaining, remember that this place remains to be of great importance for the locals who keep preserving their ancient traditions. If acting disrespectfully, you risk getting bewitched by one of the sorcerers!

la paz bolivia - women at stalls in witches market

National Museum of Ethnography and Folklore

A must-visit museum exhibiting the unique artifacts of Bolivian cultures. The museum is housed in the beautiful 18th Century Marquis de Villa Verde Palace, a relatively ¨new¨ colonial house for Bolivian standards. Get lost between ancient masks and explore the meaning behind traditional textiles. The museum also distributes wonderful audio-visual projects celebrating Bolivian culture and customs that are very much alive to this day.

la paz bolivia - Old traditional bolivian museum artifact

Mirador Laikakota

The viewpoint Laikakota gives you one of the best panoramic views of La Paz and its fascinating landscape. You can take a cable car or, if you are up to it, climb up along the neighborhood of Sopocachi and along the green valley. Reward yourself with ice cream and the fantastic view at El Illimani mountain, one of the most relaxing stops in La Paz.

la paz bolivia - view from laikakota viewpoint of la paz and mountains surrounding the city

The Moon Valley

Valle de la Luna or the Moon Valley must be one of the most loved spots in La Paz. A labyrinth of giant spires and canyons, composed mainly of clay and sandstone, the Moon Valley is simply a place of wonder. The walk along the valley is around 45 minutes long, although there is even a camping area for those wishing to stay overnight. You can get to the Moon Valley with a ‘trufi’ from La Paz.

El Alto

On Thursdays or Sundays, take a ‘teleferico’ (cable car) to el Alto to explore one of the largest street markets in Latin America. And when we say ¨the largest¨, we mean it. El Alto is the highest major city in the world and the place is ideal for travelers interested in the local Bolivian life.

view from El Alto in la paz bolivia

What To Do In La Paz

Teleférico

Take a ride on teleférico, a cable car system that provides fast and reliable transportation across all of La Paz. Paceños are very proud of their teléferico, partially operated on solar power. Take several lines to appreciate how fascinating La Paz truly is from the 4,000m perspective.

la paz bolivia - la paz teleferico cable cars

Cholita wrestling

Make sure you visit El Alto on Sunday afternoon to see this wonderfully bizarre and funny one-of-a-kind event. Cholitas have become a symbol of Bolivian female indigenous power and ‘cholita’ wrestlers are popular by tourists and the locals alike. You will surely be entertained.

la paz bolivia - cholita women wrestling

Muela del Diablo

Muela del Diablo is a great place just outside of La Paz for hiking and mountain biking while enjoying the beautiful landscape. The rocky mountain is 3,852m high and it was named after its tooth-like shape. You can get there by taking a taxi, bus or walking. If you decide to walk, remember that it takes around 1 hour of a very steep walk to get to the base, so bring plenty of water and snacks to up the energy.

la paz bolivia - muela del diablo hiking and mountain biking area

Drink coca flavoured singanis

The nightlife in La Paz is, for a relatively small capital, absolutely amazing if you know where to go. In general, bars and cafes in La Paz are bohemian, with a perfect mixture of the modern and the traditional, where the tourists and the locals mix. Try singani, a national Bolivian drink, a pomace brandy made of white grapes. We recommend singani cocktails infused with coca leaves for an ultimate Bolivian experience.

la paz bolivia - coca flavoured singani drink

Eat and dance with the locals in Sopocachi

Let us say it again – going out in La Paz is an amazing experience! There are plenty of places to choose from, no matter your taste or preferences. And the best thing is that you will always mix with the local Paceños, experiencing real Bolivian life. We recommend trying bars, restaurants, and clubs in leafy Sopocachi. Visit the beautiful bohemian neighborhood of La Paz filled with great restaurants and cozy bars that have great music.

la paz bolivia - night life in sopocachi

Useful Tips

  • La Paz is at high altitude, 3600m. Take it easy when you get here. Stay well-hydrated and drink the odd coca tea it really does help. If you are planning any high altitude treks or climbs, make sure to spend several days beforehand at altitude to acclimatize.
  • Time to deck yourself out in the llama tack. La Paz can be freezing at night. Make sure to haggle though. Vendors often try their luck at over double price to start.
  • There are hundreds of agencies in La Paz, many of which are centered around Calle Sagarnaga. Prices usually reflect the quality of service. Shop around and if you’ve already formed a Bolivia Hop group, then ask for a group discount!
  • Only carry essentials around with you. Leave passports and credit cards in your hostel.

YOU MAY LIKE

Speak to someone from our team by phone!

×

    Where are you from?


    We will call you at this number, please make sure its correct.

    Your number (required)

         

    +1

    Your Name (required)

    Email (required)

    What time should we call you? Our hours of operation are from 9am to 7pm Peruvian time.


      Peruvian time now is: 12:01 pm